Betty Boop former restaurant


For years driving down the 605 freeway in north Long Beach, California there is this very impressive Betty Boop sign highly visible to all passer byes.   This week I decided to stop and check out, what I imagined to be a restaurant.  Driving past the location there was no obvious parking lot entrance to a restaurant.  After circling the block, I pulled into a driveway in front of the building and found a space in a crammed lot the building about 5 vehicles away from me.  As someone approached me I asked if it was okay to park there to eat at the restaurant.  The gentleman did a double take and replied there was no restaurant, this was a used car lot, and what could he show me.   As I reversed and left the lot I noticed the building inside had the appearance of a restaurant, but turned in the office for the used car business.   What a waste of such an icon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

